Report of the Funding and Benefits Sub-Committee (FBSC) meeting held on 13 September 2018

The FBSC met on 13 September 2018. All FBSC members were present at the meeting except for Mr Brendan Mulkern and Mr Cliff Vidgeon who both sent their apologies. No alternates were appointed. Dr Sam Marsh (a UCU appointee to the Joint Negotiating Committee (JNC)) was in attendance in addition to the UCU appointees to the FBSC.

The following matters were considered at the meeting:

• Valuation Update

- The latest funding position was noted.
- The executive provided an update on the employer consultation in relation to the cost-sharing proposals which had gone live on 3 September 2018. This included an update on the responses received to date and it was agreed that a more detailed summary would be given to the JNC meeting on 26 September 2018.

Report Writing Principles and Code of Conduct

 The Report Writing Principles and the Code of Conduct were reviewed and discussed by the FBSC prior to them being submitted to the JNC for approval.

Other agenda items

- During the meeting, the FBSC also:
- o Reviewed and approved the minutes of the FBSC meeting held on 14 June 2018.
- Considered updates on matters arising from previous FBSC meetings.
- Discussed the trustee's communications plans in relation to the 2017 valuation and the approach to the Joint Expert Panel (JEP) report which was expected to be published on 13 September 2018.

• Chair of the Joint Expert Panel (JEP) briefing

Following the FBSC meeting, Ms Joanne Segars (the chair of the JEP) provided a
confidential briefing to attendees on the key conclusions and recommendations of
the JEP Report. Those present had the opportunity to ask questions to Ms Segars in
relation to the JEP Report. The JEP Report, which was published immediately after
the briefing, can be accessed at <u>ussjep.org.uk</u>.

This report was approved by the JNC at its meeting on 26 September 2018.



Committee Members:

Sir Andrew Cubie (independent chair)

UUK appointees:UCU appointees:Mr P HardingMs C HaswellMs M LambeMr P BridgeMr B MulkernDr R PrendergastMr J NeilsonMrs A Williams

Mr C Vidgeon

Ms E Nicholroy (UCEA)
Ms H Fairfoul (UCEA)

Note: the committee has no decision making power delegated to it.